Cultivate

cultivating 3

Cultivate

  1. a. To improve and prepare (land), as by plowing or fertilizing, for raising crops;till.       b. to loosen or dig soil around (growing plants)
  2. To grow or tend (a plant or crop).
  3. To promote the growth of (a biological culture).
  4. To nurture; foster.
  5. To form and refine, as by education.
  6. To seek the acquaintance or goodwill of; make friends with.

The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition copyright ©2000 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Updated in 2009. Published by Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved.


 I’ve been challenged for a few months to begin blogging about journeying with God.  I’ve delayed because of fear – “who will read this”, “how will they react”, “what if I am no good “. And the answers I continue to get are “Do not worry, you are doing this to honor Me, no one else”.  I recall Moses telling God he was not a gifted speaker, and God replying  “I will go with you…I will teach you what to say”.  I am not comparing myself to Moses. I am no Moses, but humbly reminding myself that scripture has provided an answer.
I love to grow things flowers, plants, vegetables and chickens. I enjoy seeing people grow.  I am excited to see what God does in people’s lives when we invite Him in.  Plants can grow without care, but the outcome and the harvest are so much better when the soil is cultivated. They thrive when we loosen the clods, water the dirt, and add nutrients.
Seeing this,  I want God to cultivate me.  That is what this space is about; cultivating  plants, cultivating people, watching and interacting with God as He cultivates me.

 

God I invite You to:

  •  improve and prepare me and this space, to plow or fertilize us, use us for raising Your crops
  • loosen or dig soil around me and around this space
  • grow or tend me and this space
  • promote our growth
I ask you, my heavenly Father to  nurture and foster me; to form and refine me; to seek my acquaintance and to make me Your friend.
One thought on “Cultivate

Leave a Reply

